Funds give a welcome boost to Petworth Cottage Museum

Mrs Cummings at work

Mrs Cummings at work

0
Have your say

THE new season at Petworth Cottage Museum is set to be even more exciting thanks to some surprise funding.

This month Petworth Cottage Museum, also known as Mrs. Cummings’s Cottage, is open once again and ready to educate and entertain visitors with its fascinating displays and historic treasures.

This year will be the museum’s 20th season and it is still delighting visitors with its detailed recreation of a Leconfield Estate worker’s home, as it might have been in 1910 when Mrs Mary Cummings was the tenant.

The reconstruction takes account of living memories, Mary’s occupation and Irish Catholic background.

After so long, it is inevitable some of the items on display begin to need repair or replacement, so the trustees are very grateful for two recent substantial grants.

The first grant of £500 from Petworth Horticultural Society is being used for the museum’s cottage garden.

Some of the garden grant has already been used to replace the wooden barrel water butt.

The second grant of £500 from the Grange Community Association in Midhurst will be used to start a textile conservation project, and it is hoped visitors to the museum will get a chance to watch professional conservators at work.

Petworth Cottage Museum can be found at 346 High Street, Petworth and is open from 2pm to 4.30pm Tuesday to Saturday and all bank holiday Mondays until the end of October.

For further information call 01798 342100 or see the website at www.petworthcottagemuseum.co.uk