BIGNOR Roman Villa has opened for a special new season as it celebrates the 200th anniversary of the discovery of the site.
The villa was a rich working farm in Roman Britain and the land is still farmed to this day by the Tupper family, descendants of George Tupper who discovered the site while ploughing in 1811.
Following excavations and the erection of Georgian cover buildings, the villa first opened its doors to the public on October 14, 1814.
And for the past 200 years, visitors have travelled from near and far to see the impressive mosaics that adorned the floors of this once elegant Roman Villa.
To help celebrate the 200th anniversary, the villa will be holding a series of weekend events throughout the season, featuring the Raven-Tor Living History Group, with its gladiatorial combat demonstrations and falconry displays.
The villa opened on Saturday, March 1 with its picnic area, stunning views and tearoom serving hot drinks and cakes.