Farewell to four Petworth town councillors

Ken Lintill and Chris Kemp
Ken Lintill and Chris Kemp

PETWORTH Town Council lost three members with a total of four decades of experience when they retired at the annual meeting this month.

Ken Lintill, who has been the council’s chairman for five years, announced he was retiring after 12 years’ service.

Wishing the council well in the future, he thanked all the councillors he had worked with over the years. He told them: “One of my real regrets is that in my five years as chairman, I have not been able to get a skate park for the young people of Petworth.

“Any land that we as town councillors have found has been unsuitable – the landowners decided they did not want it and a few residents have complained bitterly about one of the possible sites.”

Chris Kemp was voted chairman to succeed Mr Lintill.

He thanked Mr Lintill for his years of service to the town council.

Also retiring was Anne Simmonds, who joined what was then Petworth Parish Council in 1993.

“She has done invaluable work and will be sorely missed,” said Mr Lintill.

Barrie Walsh, a member for seven years, also resigned. Mr Lintill paid tribute to his hard work as chairman of the finance and general purposes committee, obtaining grant funding for the town’s neighbourhood plan.

Together with the resignation of new town councillor Jan Sheppard, co-opted last September, there are now four vacant seats on the council.