Outset Youth Awards celebrates young people's volunteering

The work of the young people who volunteer throughout West Sussex was celebrated at Fontwell Park Racecourse.

Thursday, 24th March 2016, 4:57 pm
Updated Friday, 8th June 2018, 1:09 am
Dame Sheila Wallis. Pictures: Lauren Dudley

The Outset Youth Awards evening on Friday involved young people registered with Outset Youth Action, a volunteering agency covering the whole of West Sussex.

Outset, based in Watersfield, was established in 1977 as a youth-focused volunteer agency and now, more than 1,300 young people willingly give up their free time to help others in their local community each year.

Around 300 invited guests attended the awards event, including High Sheriff of West Sussex Denise Patterson, mayors from Crawley, East Grinstead and Littlehampton, sponsors, the young nominees and their families and friends.

Magic Myles entertains with some close-up magic

Magic Myles entertained guests with some close-up magic and music was provided by Joe Waller, a young singer songwriter who appeared on X Factor, and the Lem and the White Fire, a quirky artist with soul, sass and serious talent.

Dame Sheila Wallis, president and trustee of Outset Youth Action, opened the evening and gave a short welcoming speech.

The raffle raised £150 for the Queen Alexandra Hospital Home in Worthing.

Award were presented as follows.

Joe Waller, singer songwriter from Bordon who appeared on X Factor

Outstanding summer reading volunteers: Adele Prior at Chichester Library, Joseph Harrington at Bognor Library, David Cooper at Worthing Library, Emily Kemp at Horsham Library, Katy Broome at Haywards Heath Library, Priyanka Kundalia at Crawley Library.

Commitment to volunteering: Anna Caffyn in Chichester, Zoe Luck in Bognor Regis and Arun, Stacey Harrington in Worthing and Adur, Georgina Bettinson in Horsham and rural east, Paul Greenhalgh in Mid Sussex, Jason Watts in Crawley.

Outstanding contribution: Emily Brown in Chichester, Katie Hains in Bognor Regis and Arun, Anna Hains in Bognor Regis and Arun, Tom Benford in Worthing and Adur, Brooke Wright in Horsham and rural east, Samantha Connor in Mid Sussex, Katie Tyson in Crawley.

Special Achievement: Hannah Martin in Chichester, Danny Ross in Bognor Regis and Arun, Claudia Van-Nimwegen in Worthing and Adur, Angus Davidson in Horsham and rural east, Fiona Greenhalgh in Mid Sussex, Rachel Jackson in Crawley.

Littlehampton mayor Marian Ayres, third left, with guests

Volunteer of the Year: Emily Paterson from Chichester, Liam Gilbey in Bognor Regis and Arun, Cameron Harris in Worthing and Adur, Emily Kemp in Horsham and rural east, Ben Ferris in Mid Sussex, Nathan King in Crawley.

Dedication and commitment to volunteering: Trinity Ward from the Youth Ambassadors in Chichester, Georga Cooksey, Nathan Joyce and Aaron Joyce from Brent Lodge Wildlife Hospital in Sidlesham, Darcey Burtenshaw from Bognor and Arun Inspire Leisure, Jonathan Black from Bognor and Arun Wick Information Centre, David Marriot from Burgess Hill Football Club, Francesca Blewett from Burgess Hill Library, James Akehurst from Mid Sussex Youth Council, Ryan Spencer from Charity Shop, Daisy Stahl from Mid Sussex.

Highly commended for library volunteering: Rebecca Allday and Freya Harris at Chichester Library, Rio Rivers at Bognor Library, Chloe Roberts at Littlehampton Library, Sabrina Ahmed at Lancing Library, Farrah Daughtry at Durrington Library, Lizzie Turner at Horsham Library, Fraser Whiteat Henfield Library, Katie Willie at East Grinstead Library, Wimarsha Weerasekara at Burgess Hill Library, Tori Russell at Broadfield Library and Lucy Beak at Crawley Library.

Don’t miss out on all the latest breaking news where you live.

Outset youth advisers

Here are four ways you can be sure you’ll be amongst the first to know what’s going on.

1 – Make our website your homepage

2 – Like our Facebook pages

3 – Follow us on Twitter

4 – Register with us by clicking on ‘sign in’ (top right corner). You can then receive our daily newsletter AND add your point of view to stories that you read here.

And do share with your family and friends – so they don’t miss out!

People arriving at Fontwell Park Racecourse

Sussex Newspapers – always the first with your local news.

Be part of it.

Chichester award winners Emily Brown, left, and Anna Caffyn
Crawley award winners, from left, Nathan King, Rachel Jackson, Katie Tyson and Jason Watts
East Grinstead award winner Katie Willie
High Sheriff Denise Patterson with Mid Sussex award winner Daisy Stahl