Two-way fight for Plaistow council seat

THERE will be a two-way contest when electors go to the polls later this month to choose a new Chichester district councillor for the Plaistow area.

The two candidates who have been nominated are Liberal Democrat Ray Cooper and Nick Thomas who until the last election represented Midhurst for the Conservatives.

The by-election will take place on Thursday, April 19.

Polling stations will be open throughout the day from 7am until 10pm.

They will be situated at North Hall in Loxwood, at the village hall, in Lurgashall, and at Northchapel Village Hall.

At Plaistow the polling station will be open at the youth club next to Winterton Hall.

Poll cards will be sent out to all registered electors on Monday, March 26.

The by-election has been called after the resignation of Cllr Linda Westmore, who was voted in to the seat for Plaistow at the district council elections last May.

The successful candidate will serve on Chichester District Council until May 2015.