South Downs park authority member named

DIANA Kershaw has been appointed by the secretary of state for the environment as the new member of the South Downs National Park Authority following national competition.

She has worked as a local authority transport and town planner, primarily in East London and has been head of planning for Newham Council and director of planning transport and development at Bristol City Council.

Diana Kershaw replaces Susan Warren who stepped down from the role at the end of last year. She said: “I am excited to be joining the UK’s newest national park authority. I have a great love of the countryside and I hope that my wide experience and will be useful.”