Youngsters celebrate victory as Fernhurst Scouts take trophy

editorial image

A TEAM from Fernhurst Scouts has won the district Muir Trophy award for the third time in four years.

The trophy is the coveted prize in the annual competition between the Scout troops in the movement’s Haslemere District.

The Fernhurst team consisted of patrol leaders and assistant patrol leaders Grace Marston, Duncan Codd, Freddie Kellett, Cameron Gibbon, Kerry Edwards and Felix Bacon.

They competed against four other troops in six different activities including flagpole building, an agility challenge, estimating, tent pitching, river crossing and team building.

The tense final adding up of scores at the end of the energetic evening gave the victory to Fernhurst by two points over the Chiddingfold Scouts.

The contest has been running in Haslemere District since 1945, and recently a copy of the instructions and rules for the 1952 competition, which was held at Grayshott, were found.