Battling Bognor ladies make marvellous Morris progress

On a fabulous summer's day, a team of Bognor ladies played in the semi-finals and final of the Morrice Foursomes at Ifield Golf Club.

Monday, 17th September 2012, 1:06 pm
Updated Thursday, 7th June 2018, 6:53 pm

In a good match played in generous spirit, Bognor defeated Copthorne 2-1. June Salt & Nicki Vincent won 4&2, Ann Bushell & Lynn Miller won 7&6 and Caroline Pilbeam & Wendy Johnson conceded after the win had been secured.

In the afternoon they played Ham Manor in the final and, after tight matches, lost 2-1.

June and Nicki won 2&1, Janet Carter & Sophie James lost 2&1 and Caroline and Wendy lost at the 20th.

The team were accompanied by a group of enthusiastic ladies from Bognor.

This rounds off a very successful season for Bognor ladies. In three out of four prestigious county competitions they were semi-finalists, runners-up and winners.

It began in April when Bognor, represented by Heather Tidy and Suzanne Taylor, reached the semis of the scratch foursomes at Pyecombe – no mean feat in such exalted company.

Some 48 clubs were represented in the Morrice Foursomes. Throughout the season the Morrice fours squad were represented by Ann Bushell, Lynn Miller, June Salt, Nicki Vincent, Caroline Pilbeam, Wendy Johnson, Janet Carter, Sophie James, Teresa Byrne, Bridget Samuels and Gill Harries.

The Jerdein Memorial Salver was held at High Woods and Jane Russell and Sue Doughty won with a combined score of 73 points.

Sixty-eight Bognor ladies played in a Stableford and Stableford final.

Results: Stableford final winner - Wendy Johnson 43pts; Vets’ Stableford final winner - Dora Vaughan 30. Silver Div: 1 Wendy Johnson 43, 2 Teresa Byrne 39, 3 Ann Bushell 38, 4 Sophie James 37. Bronze A: 1 Sara Stoneham 34, 2 Jane Russell 33, 3 Jacqui Humphreys 31.

Bronze B: 1 Jill Gill 40, 2 June Smith 31, 3 Hilary Reilly 28, 4 Beryl Payne 27ocb, 5 Barbara Evans 27 ocb.

A total of 46 members of the veterans’ section at Bognor took part in the fourth round of the Fletcher Trophy.

The winner was Gary Steventon with 42 points on countback from Harry Layton. Third was Dave Orton on 39, on countback from Alan Burrage.

The leading qualifiers are Harry Layton on 51, Dave Orton on 50 and Keith Simpson on 46. Thirty-six will contest the Fletcher Final on September 17. The veterans’ match at Hayling was played in excellent conditions but Hayling won 4½-3½.

Scores: R Selway & R Stevens won 2up, D Turner & I Simpson won 2up, D Burden & J Owen won 3up, G Steventon & H Layton lost 2down, Mike Oates & J Barker lost 2down, T Wells & V Ward lost 2down, P Lott & A Fitzgerald tied, B Green & C Millett lost 4down.