Wilder takes Football League honour

Former Pompey boss target Chris Wilder was tonight named as the Football League's Manager of the Year.

Sunday, 17th April 2016, 11:32 pm
Updated Thursday, 7th June 2018, 6:42 pm

Wilder has taken Northampton to the League Two title with four games to spare during an outstanding campaign.

His feat was this evening recognised at the Football League Awards 2016 in Manchester.

Local media, including The News, were canvassed on their opinion on the 11 most outstanding players from across the Championship, League One and League Two during the current campaign.

When results were revealed, Northampton keeper Adam Smith and Oxford United’s Kemar Roofe were the only representatives from League Two.

Roofe, with 25 goals during the season, was also crowned as League Two’s Player of the Year.

Wilder was beaten to the Fratton Park job by Richie Barker in December 2013.

Team of the Year: Smith (Northampton), Bruno (Brighton), Friend (Middlesbrough), Morgan (Wigan), Ayala (Middlesbrough), Judge (Brentford), Dack (Gillingham), Barton (Burnley), Roofe (Oxford), Ajose (Swindon), Gray (Burnley). Manager: Wilder (Northampton).