Young footballers work like Trojans to make Barnham’s big day a success

C110899-5_JPOS_spt_foot_trojans'Under 10's in action.
C110899-5_JPOS_spt_foot_trojans'Under 10's in action.

BARNHAM Trojans celebrated a fabulous season with a tournament for all their teams at Oliver’s Meadow in Aldingbourne.

More than 200 players were involved as teams ranging from under-sevens up to under-16s had fun in the sun.

Five awards were awarded in each age group, with each team honouring their manager’s player of the year, players’ player, most improved, most frequent man of the match and the Wallbridge Trophy for sportsmanship throughout the campaign.

Two under-16s – Ryan Burch and Bradley Hanson – received the Bashford Trophy for their commitment to the club from when they were under-sevens right through to under-16s. Ian Burch was given a ten-year award.

Barnham are a Charter standard club with around 250 boys and girls aged up to under-18. Most are from the Six Villages area, although there are players from farther afield. They are working towards Community Club status, which they hope to achieve next season.

Barnham have three adult teams and the first team finished third in Sussex League division three in their first season at that level.

Award winners: U16 - Bradley Hanson, Adam Wall, Jacob Ebling, Mark Gilbert, Ryan Burch; U15 - Ben Hard, Jack Bateman, Andy Blyth, Tom Stannard, Josh Kemp; U14 - Adam Owers, Liam Foster, Sam Faulkner, Rob Pearson, Dominic Baker; U13 - Tom Newman, Tom Pennegar, Jasper Dew, Billy Fry, Jacob Langridge; U12A - Jordan Kemp, Jack Godolphine, Sam Foster, Nathan Foster, Josh Cullinane; U12B - Connor Keen, Adam Croad, Edmund Kirby-Bott, Alfie Daniels, Bradley Coyne; U12C - Luke Garnham, Ritchie Mallock, Louis Gibbons, Tim Higgins, Mark McManus; U11A - Ben Rose, George Roberts, Julian Standish, Luke Cole, Callum Fowler; U11B - Jonathan Smith, Tom Lockwood, Teris Foster, Owen Austin, Alex Stitch; U11C - George Fenneymore, Harrison Uren, Barnaby Longland, Charles Morgan, Cameron Frame; U10A - Bradley Higgins-Pearce, Ryan Cook, Oliver Shergold, Oliver Hassell, Alfie Davidson; U10B - Toby Wright, Nick North, Ben Walker, Harry Daniels, Findley Gooding-Davis; U9A - Jack Radcliffe, Liam Brady, Toby Evans, Jack Chapman, Seamus Griffin-Tilley; U9B - Sam Haigh, Joshua Farrier (x2), Thomas Conway, Dennis Whiteman; U8 - Nathaniel White, Will Breeden, Sonny House-Spence, Ben Eames, Elliott Millman; U7 - Joe Rye, Oliver Sanderson, Jenson Carruthers, Harry Terry, Frankie Perry.