Home advantage leaves Chichester golfers' rivals in a fix

Having successfully won the Parafix Mid Sussex Winter League for 2010-11 for a second year running, Chichester Golf Club had the honour of hosting the end-of-season gala day.

Saturday, 11th June 2011, 9:00 pm
Updated Thursday, 7th June 2018, 6:57 pm

A total of 60 players took part, with Chichester, Lindfield, Mid Sussex, Singing Hills and Hassocks golf clubs all sending teams.

They were competing for the Gala Day Trophy won by Chichester in 2010 and Chichester used their home advantage on a windy day to take the trophy for a second year running by a tight margin of two points.

Pictured right are the winning team Dave Monkton, Steve Cockerall, Dave Dumbrell, Mick Goodrum, Keith Hopper, Nigel Wells, Mike Moore (team captain), Russ Hallett, Rob Murray (club captain), Ian Blackman and Peter Walker.

Chichester veterans visited West Chiltington and were given a warm welcome by the home team.

A splendid match ensued on a course which is quite tight and rather more hilly than the Chichester course.

The result was an emphatic 5-1 win for Chichester. The return match takes place at Chichester on September 19.

Results: David Blythe & Peter Green won 2up against Barrie Nicholls & Richard Burton; Mike Hunter &

Roger Fletcher won 4&3 against Mike Sandford & Rod Northway, Chris Myers & Roy Chandler won 3&2 against Bob Symonds & Jerry Myles, Rob Baldwin & Richard Parker lost 3&2 against John Turner & Derek Pellet, Norman Moore & Richard Holden won 4&2 against Rodney Marsh & Phil Migdale, Mike Chapman & Andrew Grant won 4&3 against Roger Wenman & Clive Bentley.


Cowdray Park seniors held their annual past captains’ dinner, preceded by a nine-hole stableford, at the invitation of current captain Peter Burton.

Somewhat inhospitably, Burton then proceeded to win the competition on countback from his vice-captain Bill Hummerston, providing a victory for the ‘younger’ generation.

Former Cowdray Park club captain Phil Harrison won the seniors’ much-delayed Sandell Trophy when he eventually overcame the stiff resistance of Frank Cheevers by 2&1.

As was to be expected from two players of equal handicap and playing at the peak of their form, this was always going to be close. Neither player gained a clear advantage until Harrison closed the match out on the 17th to claim his first trophy of the year.

On a perfect day for golf, Cowdray Park held their annual stableford for over-60s – otherwise known as The Veterans’ Cup – using the white tees.

The extra distance from the white tees seemed to deter many of the over-60s from entering, but veteran 28-handicapper Maurice Watts disproved this theory by returning an excellent 37 points to claim third place. He lost second place only to Jan de Vries on countback.

De Vries held the lead in the clubhouse until former seniors’ captain Dave Tilley (right) came in with a winning score of 39 and a place on the roll of champions.


Great weather, good company and a super tea followed by strawberries and cream was requested by Selsey’s lady captain Eddie Williamson on her special day. Overall winner with 35 points was Meg Mearns, on countback from Sharon Williams. Nearest-the-pin winners were Barbara Winter, Margaret Curry-Jones and Sue Bywater. Fewest putts came from Sylvia Carter.

Sylvia Carter and Linda Partridge won the two EWGA May Medals, Linda also taking the beautiful Hacking Bowl, with Judy Sharpe second.

Bronze Cup winner was Barbara Winter, also ahead of Judy. The Rabbits Cup winner was Beverly Guest from Elizabeth Trigg-Knight.

Captain’s Day for Selsey’s veterans’ section was celebrated with an 18-hole and a nine-hole stableford. A total of 47 players competed for the numerous prizes provided by the captain.

Prizes for nearest the pin on the third, seventh, 12th & 16th par-three holes were won by Dave Green, John Williamson, Paul Boughton and John Napper respectively.

The nine-hole competition was won by Alec Waterson with 18 points. Second was Derek Wilgoss with 16 after countback and third was Gordon Shepherd, also with 16.

Prizes for the 18-hole competition were divided into three divisions, depending on handicap. In division three, the winner was Brian Rainer with 36 points, second was Brian Keen with 34 and third Tony Smith with 32.

In division two, the winner – and overall Captain’s Day winner – was Terry Chapman with 40 points, ahead of Ray Sleet with 38 after countback from Vic Wade.

In division one, the winner was Brian Chamberlain with 35 points on countback from Dennis Sanderson, also with 35, and third was Paul Boughton with 34.

The final prize for the longest drive on the first hole, competed for by past captains, was won by Peter Brooks.

In club matches, the veterans lost 4½-1½ at Foxbridge but won 4-2 away to Gosport & Stokes Bay.


The senior medal competition’s division-one winner was Brian Coughlan with a nett score of 70. In division two, the winner was Stanley Burdfield with 69.

The midweek medal was won by John Thomas with nett 66.

Captain’s Day was a big success. Medal winner was Vinny Lampitt (nett 69), ahead of Carl Sidebotham (70) and Danny Carter (71).

The stableford was won by Gary Rollinson with 40 points and in second place was Carl Corbin (37). Third with 35 points was Robert Kuszka.

Nearest the pins were won by Andy Cooke, Stephen Porter, Chris Wall, Bob West and Bob Boulter.

The club’s bank-holiday Monday stableford was won by James Christy with 37 points. The senior stableford was won in division one by David Feist with 35 points and in division two by John Hall with 38.

A midweek stableford was won by John Hall with 38.

Avisford Park are hosting an open day on Saturday, June 25.

The 18-hole course, located in Walberton, has been renovated and is now in fantastic condition. The open day is an ideal opportunity for golfers to try the course for themselves.

The cost is £40 per couple, which includes green fees, prizes and a light lunch. Booking is essential on 01243 554611.