It's all about the Bass and the Bash at Chichester

It was a busy weekend at Chichester YC with the second day of the Bass Cup against Dell Quay SC followed by the start of the Birdham Barrel series incorporating Bart's Bash.

Saturday, 1st October 2016, 10:00 am
Updated Friday, 8th June 2018, 1:28 am
Bass Cup action at Chichester

Saturday was a cool overcast day with a tricky north-westerly wind. Race officer Roger Millet placed committee boat Cyclone between Chichester YC and Dell Quay just south of Copperas Point, setting a figure of eight course for the final Bass Cup races.

Chichester started in the lead after races one to three.

Race four was dominated by the single handers, with CYC’s high-wind specialist Ian Payne taking first in his Laser, finishing ahead of many ‘faster’ boats. Second was Mark Harper (CYC, Solo) and third David Maltby (DQSC, Solo).

In race five, the first three boats were from CYC. The two-man boats finally got a look-in with Paula and Michal Olliff first in their 2000, followed by Mark Harper and Ian Payne, again in the top three.

In race six it was the turn of DQSC to lead the racing, with David Maltby first and Simon Verzall (Solo) second. CYCs Ian Payne finished third, winning the series.

Final results - 1 Ian Payne; Laser, CYC; 2 David Maltby; Solo, DQSC; 3 Mark Harper; Solo, CYC; 4 Simon Verzall; Solo, DQSC; 5 Helen & Mark Green; 2000, CYC; 6 Michael & Paula Olliff; 2000, CYC.

The Bass Cup was awarded to Chichester YC, who beat Dell Quay 110 points to 155, based on the top five boats from each club.

CYC’s Roger Millett ran the event in testing conditions.

* Sunday brought unexpected sunshine and light winds and Chichester YC were proud to support Bart’s Bash, raising money for the Andrew Simpson Sailing Foundation.

Bart’s Bash was run in race two of CYC’s Birdham Barrel series and results have been submitted to Bart’s Bash –the world’s biggest sailing race.

The Birdham Barrel saw three races run as a single fleet. Conditions were challenging.

Race one was won by Roger Millett in his Solo, closely followed by Dave Hope, also in a Solo, with Hannah Thomson in her Topper taking third on handicap. The first fast fleet boat was Andy Conway in his RS100.

Race two had to be at least 1000m to count for Bart’s Bash. Biddy Colbourne, without her usual helm, stepped in to helm a 2000, crewed by Paula Olliff. They proved an exceptional team taking first place in Bart’s Bash. The next three places went to Solo sailors, Paul Trevan, Roger Millett and David Hope.

The wind filled in a little for race three, although many called it a day after Bart’s Bash. Race three was again dominated by the Solos with Roger Millet, Dave Hope and Paul Trevan again taking the first three places.

The first Fast Fleet boat was that of Al and Manu Jenkin in their 2000 with Chris Grosscurth and Emma York second and Biddy Colbourne and Paula Olliff third.

It was also fabulous to see a large group of young Oppie sailors out practising their skills with some coaching from young CYC coaches.


Race five of the DQSC Late Helm series started in a challenging force six south westerly breeze, which dropped back to force five.

First to cross the finish line was Andrew Buchanan (Finn) but first place on handicap went to David Maltby (Solo), followed by Gordon Barclay (Solo) and Simon Verrall.

For the second race the wind had dropped to force four with Buchanan once again finishing first on the water but this time taking third place on handicap.

Maltby and Barclay once again took first and second. Barclay leads the series with Sue Manning (Laser 4.7) second and Buchanan third.

Light and fickle winds meant a delay in starting the Late Trophy races five and six and proved frustrating at times for competitors.

In the Solo fleet Roger Puttock fought hard against light-wind expert Richard Ede to win each time, while Mike Shaw and Richard Bridgemont shared third and fourth places.

Shaw, the only sailor to have competed in all six races so far, leads overall but with two more races to go Gordon Barclay, currently lying second, could take the trophy.

A very mixed handicap fleet saw the slowest and fasted boats take the top corrected time positions in the first race, though finishing 22 minutes apart.

Jean and Liz Sagues (Lymington River Scow) beat Gideon and Gilly Ewers (RS 400), while third place was Simon Bell (RS Aero7).

The day’s second race saw Bell avoiding the late-race calm to win, ahead of Sarah and Martin Greenhalgh (2000) and Roy Dyton (Streaker).

Sue Manning (Laser 4.7) continues to lead the series, ahead of Andrew Buchanan (Finn) who was unable to sail after injuring his hand.

Don’t miss out on all the latest breaking sports news where you live.

Here are four ways you can be sure you’ll be among the first to know what’s going on.

1 Make this website your homepage

2 Like our Facebook page at

3 Follow us on Twitter @SportSussex

4 Register with us by clicking on ‘sign in’ (top right corner). You can then receive our daily newsletter AND add your point of view to stories that you read here.

Share with your family and friends - so they don’t miss out!