Junior golfers take centre stage at Bognor

editorial image

Nearly 100 juniors, their parents, grandparents and sponsors attended the Bognor Golf Club juniors’ dinner and prizegiving.

Having scored 86 points over ten events, 16-year-old Tom Stoneham was the winner of the Order of Merit competition.

He won two of the events, including the Bognor Open, and was runner-up in four.

Second with 67 was his younger brother, 11-year-old Jake, with 17-year-old Ryan Breach third on 64.

The player of the year award was presented to Jack Taylor, 16. He didn’t lose a match in any games when playing in the junior teams throughout the season. He also won three of the events in the Order of Merit competition.

Winner of two of the OoM events and with a fantastic handicap reduction of 36 to 21 in the season, 14-year-old Max Littleboy was named as the most improved golfer.

He was a highly-committed Junior, he never missed a competition and won two of the most important matches in the John Bury Plate final, with no previous matchplay experience.

The junior club championship, a 36-hole event, was won by Jordan Vincent. Ryan Maskell was runner-up and beat James Woosley in the singles KO.

The four-ball better-ball KO was won by Marcus Embleton and Sam Grover, both 16, beating Ryan Breach and Matt Wood. Jake Stoneham has played for the county under-13s and is now very much looking forward to playing his part for the under-14s in 2013.

Following a very good year, during which the John Bury Plate was won and the team finished runners-up in the West Sussex League, Jason Cullen handed over the role of junior captain to Ryan Breach, with Matt Wood as vice-captain. The captain has an important role including supporting and developing the junior members and team selection and liaison with junior organiser Ian Stoneham.


Cowdray Park seniors teed off the New Year with the first round of the Captain’s Prize under dull and cold conditions - although the course had recovered from the recent downpours.

The competition is played over four rounds, with an individual’s best three of four scores deciding the overall winner.

In each round, players are paired together and the best combined scores on the day also win prizes.

Early scoring was good considering the conditions, with Roger Poat (36) and Sam Howes (35) setting an early target of 71.

Next out came Mike Burgess (33) and Wally Mitchell (39), whose return of 72 earned them third place on countback.

They were eventually overtaken by the winners with 74 points, Ken Marjoram (39) and Mick Morling (35).

John Doran (34) and John Newman (38) threatened the leaders but, with 72, had to settle for second place on countback.

Shot of the day came from David Gaff with a spectacular eagle two on the notoriously-difficult par-four 16th hole, on his way to 38 points.

Leading scores after R1: 39pts - Ken Marjoram & Wally Mitchell; 38 - David Gaff, John Newman, John Lee & Paul Owen; 37 - Rodney Fisher; 36 - Roger Poat; 35 - Derek Smith, Mick Colban & Mick Morling.

Four of the leading five players have had their handicaps reduced. The next round is already drawn and, weather permitting, will take place on January 17.


The final of the STM roll-up was won by Stephen Porter with a nett score of 70.

In second place was Chris May with 72, third was Phil Pye with 75 and fourth was Ryan Blackwood with 77.

In the club medal, division-one winner was Colin Rogers with a nett 63. In division two, Stephen Squires won with 64.

The senior medal winners were Anthony Stansfield in division one with a nett 65 and Michael Paige in division two, with the same score.