Prizes galore for Bognor and Chichester golfers

Prizewinners among the Chichester veterans
Prizewinners among the Chichester veterans

Bognor Golf Club held their annual awards evening, with more than 50 trophies being awarded to this year’s winners as well as mementoes to the runners-up.

Club captain Ron Stevens presented the trophies and was well supported by club secretary James MacLean, who entertained with his anecdotes.

The RNLI medal prize is normally a small RNLI inscribed teaspoon but James decided to change things this year to the amusement of the attendee, and presented a pair of port/starboard Socks, fish-shaped soap and a mug, all bought from the RNLI magazine.

Some of this year’s winners include: Spring Tankard Henry Leo; RNLI Medal Liam Maskell, Paul Brennan, Andy Dunn; Bognor Challenge Paul Oliver; Davis Bowl Tony Parkes & Ian Hendry; Ladies County Scratch Foursomes Heather Tidy & Chloe Court; Erleigh Foursomes Chris Lovell & Matt Nelmes.

More winners will feature in the Observer in the coming weeks.

This year’s winners and runners-up cup was won by Richard Hendrick with a fantastic nett 64. Tony Parke came second with 67 and Nathan Parke came third with 70.

A Stableford was held for the rest of the members and it was won by Taff Coulton with 34 points. He narrowly beat Jason Wickham, Roy Tidy and Joe Froud, all on countback.

A four-man team competition was held with three scores out of four counting and it was won by Andrew Field, Roy Tidy, Pete Lea and Richard Hendrick with 120 points. They beat Jim Catt, Dave Stephens, Graham Halliday and Ivan Towse on countback.

Bognor seniors finished their summer season with two home games. In the first they welcomed Sandown & Shanklin to Bognor and the match finished 6½-1½ to Bognor with their bankers Steve King and Andy Isitt winning in grand style 5&4.

Results: Gary Steventon & Ron Stevens won 2 up, John Owen & Brian Wolstencroft won 1 up, Tony Wells & Roger Selway halved, Dave Turner & Dave Chalmers won 4&3, Mike Oates & Chris Hickling won 3&1, Frank Hodder & Clive Millett lost 4&2, Mike Walsh & Peter Collins won 1 up and Steve King & Andy Isitt won 5&4

In the second match Ifield were the visitors and in a very close encounter Bognor’s last pair won their fourball to clinch the contest 4½-3½.

Results: Allan Delves & Peter McCormack won 2 up, Steve King & Ken Catt lost 3&2, Frank Hodder & Bryan Madgwick lost 3&2, Clive Millett & Dave Chalmers won 5&4, Peter Lott & Alan Fitzgerald halved, Roger Selway & Peter Collins won 1 up, Hugh Diaper & Vic Ward lost 5&4, Mike Oates & John Owen won 5&4.

Bognor’s captains’ team event involved 12 members from the men’s, ladies’, seniors’ and juniors’ sections. Each four-ball contains one from each section.

This year, as in the past two years, Bognor’s seniors triumphed by just one point. Senior John Owen won the last four-ball to ensure the seniors retained the trophy. He told how he sank a 20ft putt on the last to win.

Despite the very strong winds, 18 pairs of ladies took part in a foursomes competition.

Scores: 1 Nicola Holton & Jane Russell 30; 2 Lin Harbutt & Marge Fenwick 29; 3 Barbara Trenchard & Jackie Herbert 28.


Chichester veterans gathered for their annual summer prizegiving, where all the major trophy winners and runners-up get their prizes.

The order of merit was very competitive and places changed right up to the last day, where Mike Harrington won the medal with a nett 65 to cement second place behind the overall winner Nick Hobbs.

Hobbs’ total of 67 points was the best ever recorded and he was a clear 12 points ahead of the rest.

Results: 1 Nick Hobbs 67, 2 Mike Harrington 55, 3 Dieter Matthey 43, 4 Pete Collyer 42, 5 Brendan Sharpe 38.

The matchplay events were also concluded with Richard Parker, who lost last year’s final on the 18th hole, making sure this year with a victory over Robert Stainsby.

The singles plate was won by Bruce Santer ,who beat Chris Penny in the final, and the doubles was won by Mike Skinner and Norman Moore, who triumphed over Richard Parker and Pete Collyer.

The summer eclectic, now split between players with handicaps up to 20 and the category-four players, saw Jim Robertson win the lower handicappers’ prize and Charlie Duthie take the other trophy.

The veterans completed their inter-club matches with a trip to East Horton, where they drew 3-3. After losing the first two matches, Chichester fought back to draw level and it was touch and go until the last match, in which Bruce Santer and Nigel Wood secured a victory to halve the match.

This completed a very fine season for the vets, who lost just five matches (all away), halved five and won 16.

Scores: C Goldsmid & B Shrives-Wrist lost 2 down; G Probert & D Blythe lost 6&4; B Martin & R Stainsby won 7&5; P Collyer & R Parker won 4&3; C Penny & R Holden lost 2 down; B Santer & N Wood won 3&2.


With two qualifying events in October, medal and Stableford, the position at the head of the Cowdray Park seniors’ Eclectic leaderboard tightened up.

Nick Austin improved by one to tie with current leader Peter Laws. Fifteen of the 16 events have now been completed and the position is so close, with only one shot covering the top six, that November’s Stableford will be an exciting and tense affair.

Many players managed to improve their scores during October. A total of 100 out of the 145 in the Eclectic have bettered nett par, which is two thirds of the field.

Leader Laws did not improve his position in October and is now vulnerable to the chasing pack. Apart from Nick Austin, the close pursuers also include Gordon Kendall, (a danger off his handicap), previous winner Phil Harrison, Dave Hirons (only needing a change of luck) and multi-winner and club champion Dave Lucking, who has had a brilliant year.

Leaderboard: Peter Laws 55.5 (on countback); Nick Austin 55.5; Gordon Kendall 56 (cb); Phil Harrison 56; Dave Hirons 56.5 (cb); Dave Lucking 56.5; Phil Pett 57 (cb); John Kitchener 57 (cb); Paul Owen 57.

adsett pic

More than 40 players took part in Cowdray Park seniors’ Champions’ Trophy, having qualified for the event by finishing first or second in competitions throughout the year.

Early scoring was unexceptional, with David Heard leading a number of players on 71, before Tony Castley broke the log-jam with 70, his best medal score of the year following his best Stableford score the previous week. His joy was shortlived as the ever-consistent Jim Booth returned with 69, only to be beaten later for third place on countback by Harvey Terry.

Eventual winner Terry Adsett recorded a 67, building on his fine round at the weekend in the club’s Kennington Cup. Runner-up was Clive Brine with 68. Among the clutch of players on 70 was Dave Lucking, who recorded the lowest gross score of the day, 75, from his handicap of five, capping a fine season during which he has been a multi-winner.

Leaderboard: 67 Terry Adsett; 68 Clive Brine; 69 ocb Harvey Terry; Jim Booth; 70 (cb) Graham Thompson; David Wickham; Dave Lucking; Tony Castley.

Jan de Vries won the Cowdray Park seniors’ summer knockout competition for the Lait Trophy by beating Bill Hummerston 2&1 in a close-fought final.

Cowdray ladies played in their October Stableford.

Results: Div 1 – 1 Jane Holden 34pts; 2 Marilyn Davis 34; 3 Debbie Cheasley 34. Div 2 – 1 Jo Fife 34; 2 Pat Wallace 31; 3 Cath Yates 29; Div 3 – 1 Brenda Rees 42; 2 June Page 32; 3 Chris Sommerville 28.