Racketball’s finest shine in Chichester

editorial image

The Harrow UK Racketball Series is the premier tournament series for the sport in the UK and Chichester Racquets & Fitness Club hosted the penultimate event this year.

The turnout was strong one with both the first-round box leagues containing previous series event winners. 
The two finalists were Ted Jeal (nationally ranked No2) and Tom Phipps (No5). Phipps closed the match out 2-0 and took the Chichester Harrow series title.

The women’s grade event saw series regulars facing Chichester players. Jo Moseley (UK No4) powered through the A group until meeting Chichester’s Claire Briance, who had been equally dominant.

After a close three games, Briance took the spot in the final.  

Group B was also closely fought but Natalie Lawrence (UK No2) got the better of Katherine Milne (UK No7).

In the final Lawrence was unfazed by the home advantage for Briance and took the first game before closing out the match 2-0.

There were 19 in the B grade, in which Chichester’s Nat Hubert took first place in group A, winning all four of his first-round matches and only dropping one game out of eight to Gary Watt.

In group B Chichester’s Miles Davy had a clean sweep and a total score of eight to go through to the semis.

In group C, Dave Herron sneaked through to the semis while in Group D, Dan Clarke came out on top. 

Davy and Clarke fought it out for top spot and Clarke managed the win.
In the over-40s event, Jason Russell (UK No3) and Jon Miles (UK No7) reached the final. Series regular Russell marched on to take the title.
In the over-50s, Manuel Costa (UK No9), Chichester’s Andy Henshaw and UK No1 Steve Wall all went through with maximum points.

The trio entered a box league to battle it out for the title. Wall won both his matches 2-0 taking the prize in dominant style. 
The beginners’ grade was well-fought with all players taking games. Lee Divers was well ahead of the pack to win, with runners-up spot going to Chichester’s Tony Roddis, who won three out of his four games.

Prizes were presented by Will Bennett of UK Racketball and Chichester coach Mike Phillips.