Sailors more likely to get wet than frostbite

The RS 400 fleet in action at Dell Quay
The RS 400 fleet in action at Dell Quay

Rain and lighter-than-forecast winds presented a challenging start to Dell Quay Sailing Club’s winter Frostbite series.

Race one started well with Warwick Hoddy and John Denyer (2000) first off the start line closely followed by Bill Dawber (Solo) and the rest of the fleet.

On the long beat down to Copperas East, the wind dropped off to the point where the fleet slowed almost to a standstill.

Eventually the fleet were able to return, led by the RS 400s, but were struggling to find enough wind to keep going all the way to Hook and then back to the finish line. Race officer Roy Dyton shortened the course to one lap.

The RS 400s were first to cross the line but Dawber took first place on handicap, followed by the Solos of Malcolm Buchanan in second and John Purdy in third.

The wind picked up considerably for the second race allowing enough time to complete two laps. Once again the RS400s led all the way around the course to cross the finish line first.

However, the real contest was between the Solos of Dawber, Purdy and Buchanan, with Dawber the clear leader and winner on handicap. Inspired by his new sail and Selden Zeta mast, Purdy was in good form, pushing Buchanan into third to take second place on handicap.

Further down the fleet there was a hard-fought contest between the Solos of Mike Dicker and Richard Bridgmont. Dicker overtook Bridgmont as they rounded the mark and maintained his lead by choosing a good line on the beat back to the finishing line.

The DQSC Frostbite series continues on December 6 and is open to all.


Conditions for the third and forth races of Chichester YC’s Frozen Toe were grey, rainy and random. But this did little to dampen attendance with the fast and slow fleets boasting more entrants than the opening weekend while the medium fleet was only slightly down overall.

In the opening race for the fast fleet, the RS400s of Nick and Roger Elliman, Gideon and Gilly Ewers and Lancing’s Simon and Jo Matthews made the early running, opening an unassailable gap over the rest to fleet – with the Ellimans and Matthews trading shots before the former emerged victorious.

In the second race, CYC’s Nick and Biddy Colbourne assumed their accustomed position at the head of the medium fleet with the Solos Felpham’s Guy Mayger and Ian Lissamore taking the other two podium positions.

In the slow fleet, Eliza South and Ed Jones piloted their Mirror to top spot over the Toppers of Oliver Randall-May and Izzy Loveridge. This was the only race of the day for the youngsters.

The fourth race in the series again saw the RS400s extend on the water but this time the Ellimans took top spot, with the Merlin Rocket of Simon Ketter from Thames taking third place on handicap.

There was drama on the water in the medium fleet for while once again the Colbournes slid comfortably into line and handicap honours, Lissamore saw his second place turn into sixth after a penalty was imposed for a failure to keep clear, promoting CYC’s Mark Harper into second and Mayger into third.

Overall Standings (after four races): Fast: 1 Nick & Roger Elliman (CYC); 2 Gideon & Gilly Ewers (CYC); 3 Jonty Freeman & Neil Arnott (Newhaven & Seaford). Medium: 1 Ian Lissamore (CYC); 2 Mark Harper (CYC); 3 Roger Millet (CYC). Slow: 1 Izzy Loveridge (CYC); 2 Harriet Kirk (CYC); 3 Eliza South & Ed Jones (CYC).