Season’s bowling along at Chichester - for 130th time

Mayor Michael Woolley bowls the first wood of the season at Chichester BC
Mayor Michael Woolley bowls the first wood of the season at Chichester BC

Saturday saw the opening day of Chichester’s 130th season.

The oldest club in Sussex had their patron – the Mayor of Chichester Cllr Michael Woolley – bowling the traditional first wood.

He was watched by all present, including ladies’ president Chris Hobbs, men’s president Simon Tooley and club president Guy Buckle.

On a beautiful sunny afternoon, more akin to a summer’s day than spring, there was a magnificent turnout of members.


Fishbourne opened the 2011 season with their first friendly at home against Cowplain, who beat them by 15 shots.

Fishbourne’s contribution with the club’s new coloured shirts made the afternoon go well. The shirts have been donated by a club benefactor.

The club are still hoping to increase membership.

If you’re interested, go along to a club roll-up on a Monday or Thursday afternoon (2-4pm) to give it a try.


The finals of the West Sussex inter-club KO Cup competition were won by The Martlets.

The semi-finals were held in the morning and paired The Martlets, from Billingshurst, against Horley and Chanctonbury, from Storrington, against Ashington.

The Martlets won 48-34 while Chanctonbury were 57-24 winners. In the final The Martlets retained their title with a 48-23 triumph. As well as winning the cup for the second year in a row, The Martlets have also won the league title this year.

Alongside the main competition were the finals of the plate competition for first-round losers and in the semi-finals Bognor Good-Woods faced Mannings Heath and repeated their league victory of the previous evening with a 48-25 win.

In the other semi-final Slinfold Infinity, a new club, faced Selsey-based Crablands. Slinfold dominated to win 68-33.

In the final Slinfold’s Ben Haulkham established an early lead over Bognor’s Brenda Jones and extended it throughout the game. On the other mat Bognor’s Brian Mills was always ahead in a tight game but could never establish enough of a lead to offset the deficit on the other mat. Slinfold ran out 42-31 winners.


Arun ladies are celebrating a last-game win at home to Eastbourne.

The 11 points gave them 100 for the season and left them sitting proudly at the top of the league.


At the club’s annual meeting, trophies were presented by Jack Dunford, who, despite being in his 90s, gave up bowling only this year and was made an honorary member.

He presented Maggie Maggs with the ladies’ singles trophy, while others honoured were Ron Beasley (drawn pairs), Bill Fowler (drawn pairs), Tony White (captain’s shield and chairman’s trophy), Vic Mitchell (men’s singles, invitation pairs, captain’s shield), Terry Taws (chairman’s trophy), Janine Bartlett (chairman’s trophy), Joan Jones (invitation pairs, captain’s shield) and Marjorie Beasley (ladies’ singles runner-up).

The evening was completed with refreshments and was very successful end to an enjoyable


Lavant and Chilgrove played the deciding leg of their four-match series for the Golden Bowl trophy. Lavant led by only six shots after match three and five games of triples were to be played.

At Chilgrove, Tony Bleach’s trio started well but faltered near the end, hanging on to win 19-18. Jim Sharrod’s trio scored steadily to win comfortably 22-11.

At Lavant, Peter Winter’s trio scored heavily leading 23-4 at nine ends and taking the game 27-10.

Tony Boxall’s trio were 10-10 at ten ends, but swept on to win 25-10. Peter Whale’s trio were far too good, shutting out the opposition to win 41-3. That made the final series score 237-148 to Lavant.

The trophy, already held by Lavant, was presented to captain Peter Winter during a buffet supper. Lavant thanked Chilgrove for their hospitality.