Toes are frozen, honours are shared at Chichester

editorial image

RACES five and six in Chichester YC’s Frozen Toe series began in freezing temperatures with a light three-knot breeze.

Race officers Mark Harper and Ian Payne and team laid an inverted P course and in race 5 the fast fleet got away cleanly with Steve and Sarah Cockerill (Hill Head SC) in their Merlin leading the fleet to the windward mark, followed by the RS400 of Jason and Ryan Buchanan from Dell Quay SC. The Cockerills made steady progress and crossed the line in first place.

Meanwhile the Merlin Slippery when Wet, sailed by Will Rainey and Caroline Croft from Shoreham SC, had moved up to second place on corrected time, with the Buchanans in the RS400 taking third.

In the medium fleet, CYC members Nick and Biddy Colbourne in their G14 had a close race with the Europe of Lucy Boreham, also CYC, with the GP14 just three seconds ahead on corrected time after 40 minutes of racing.

The leading Solo was Roger Millett (CYC) in third.

In the all-youth slow fleet, the Mirrors from Itchenor Sailing club made a welcome return to Chichester Lake and provided some very close racing.

Archie and Bruce Grant were just ahead of fellow ISC members Joanna Kaldren and Imogen Bellfield, with third slot taken by Celia Hansell and Paddy Jefferies (ISC) all sailing Mirrors.

Race six brought a dying wind and falling temperatures.

The fast fleet again got away at the first attempt, but Rainey and Croft in the Merlin made a good start and won on corrected time with the Cockerills second, followed by another Merlin sailed by Jeremy and Joanne Deacon from Cookham Reach SC.

In the medium fleet, Boreham won from the Colbournes, with third taken by the Laser of Simon King (CYC). In the slow fleet the Itchenor SC Mirror boats lead the fleet and again took the first three places. Joanna Kaldren

and Imogen Bellfield won, with Archie and Bruce Grant second and Celia Hansell and Paddy Jefferies third.

The final Frozen Toe races are this Sunday from 11.30am.

The club’s Snowflake series begins on December 30 at 11.15am.

Details of the CYC winter series can be found at

Report by Mark Harper