Valley golfers will raise money - and community spirits - at Goodwood

editorial image

The Valley Golf Charity Challenge takes place at Goodwood’s Park course on Saturday, September 24.

The event was set up two years ago to bring together the small communities of East Dean, Charlton and Singleton through golf and raise money for charity.

In 2009 the challenge netted £1,800 for the East dean community hall restoration project and last year, a sum of £3,600 was raised for Brain Tumour UK.

This year golfers will raise money for the Snowdrop Trust, a local organisation that supports terminally-ill children and their families. Organisers hope to better last year’s total.


Several knockout competitions have been finalised – and the Vincents were victorious in more than one.

Fifteen-year-old Jordan Vincent, who plays off five, has become the club champion thanks to his win over 36 holes in the final against Rob Kissell.

The ladies’ section held their club championship. The semi-finals pitted Sophie James against Suzanne Taylor and Heather Tidy versus Michelle Auger. Tidy and Taylor came through and in a close final, Tidy was three up at one stage but Taylor was one up with only the 18th to play.

She lost the hole and it was all square - and on the extra hole, Tidy was victorious.

Gary Embleton won the Riseborough Singles when he beat Gary Maskell, while Peter Lott won the Vicliff Trophy by beating Dan Hoare, junior vice-captain, one up.

The Veterans’ KO Cup was won by Jim Catt, beating Don McCleod one up. The annual mixed foursomes were won by Vic and Nicki Vincent – parents of Jordan – one up against Richard and Edwina Beresford. Peter Barker and Ken Morgan beat Gary Steventon and Jim Morris in the final of the annual vets’ summer four-ball.

The ladies and vets’ KO competition was won by Gary Steventon and ladies’ captain Georgina McCormack, who beat Roger Selway and Anne Coupe.

Some 49 members of the veterans’ section took part in the final qualifying round of the Fletcher Trophy, hoping for sufficient points to reach the final later this month.

The winner was John Owen, vets’ captain, with 41 points. Paul Archer was second with 40, on countback from Richard Hedge, and fourth was Gary Steventon on 39. The best qualifiers were Trevor Till on 34, Richard Hedge 33, and Joe Cookson and Ken Sloane both on 31. A field of 36 will take part in the final.

A total of 67 played in a men’s Stableford off the white tees. The winner was Dave Hicks with a superb 41 points on countback from Alan Cramp (Div 3). Mike Hornby (Div 3) with 40 was third. Andrew Field, (Div 1) was fourth on 39, on countback from Vic Vincent and Miller Stevenson (both Div 2).

The veterans completed the double against Hayling, winning a close away match 5-3 on such a demanding links course.

Scores: Dave Hollis & Eric Payne won 4&3, J Owen & P Archer lost 3&1, C Willis & B Wolstencroft won 1 up, G Steventon & P Barker lost 1 down, P Lott & R Selway won 1 up, T Till & T Wells halved, J Catt & D Turner won 1 up, B Vanstone & C Millett halved.


A total of 41 of Chichester’s lady members took part in the Diana Farley Trophy in ideal conditions on the Cathedral course. This medal competition is held every year in memory of Diana, a former lady captain.

Elaine Fell and Maggie Martin-Prudhomme both came in with nett scores of 71. Vice-captain Elaine took the trophy on countback on the back nine.

Results: 1 Elaine Fell 71 ocb, 2 Maggie Martin-Prudhomme 71, 3 Sandi Johnstone 75 ocb.

Some 11 ladies competed in the EWGA Saturday Medal. Again conditions were ideal – and six ladies returned scores under par.

Junior member Rebecca Curd, playing off 26, came out on top with nett 69. She reduced her handicap to 24.

Results: 1 Rebecca Curd 69, 2 Emma Fields 71 (ocb), 3 Sarah Jessop 71.


Cowdray Park’s division-three ladies’ team have won the County Cup.

This year 37 clubs from throughout the county took part, divided into eight groups. Having won all eight of their group preliminaries – home and away to Bognor Regis (7-0 and 4-3), Seaford (6½-½ and 4½-2½), East Sussex National (5½-1½ and 4-3) and Willingdon (6-1 and 5-2) – Cowdray went on to beat Sweetwoods 4-3 in the quarter-finals, Crowborough Beacon 5-2 in the semi-finals and Cottesmore 4-3 in the finals.

The final team was made up of Jean Barnett, Terry Hughes (lady captain), Joyce Fanshawe, Barbara Smith (division three captain), Jenny Clegg, Margaret Curwood and Beryl Bishop.

Gayle Blockey, Caroline Haynes, Glenda Luff, Frances Marjoram, Chris Barker and Imke Sanderson also contributed to the victory by winning games in preliminary matches.

The team are especially proud as it has been almost two decades since the division-three cup was last won by Cowdray in 1993.

Cowdray Park seniors hoped to repeat their narrow 4½-3½ home win when they visited the Dyke vets at Brighton. The course is perched high on the Sussex Downs overlooking the English Channel at Shoreham Harbour and is at the mercy of the elements – on this occasion a very strong wind.

Two early wins, from Dave Tilley & Terry Moran and John Doran & Peter Burton put the visitors in a strong position but the home side drew level. Ken Newberry & Dave Wickham restored the visitors’ advantage before the home side asserted their authority with wins in the final three matches to clinch overall victory by 5-3.

Results (Cowdray names first): Dave Tilley & Terry Moran beat Alan Glynne & Mike Davies 2up; John Doran & Peter Burton beat Tom Bishop & Gerry Nash 3&2; Paul Berry & Barry Overington lost to Mike Grindell & Morris Huggett 7&5; Wally Mitchell & Brian Carpenter lost to Ray Bullock & Barry Thomas 8&6; Ken Newberry & Dave Wickham beat Alan Drew & Cliff Stuart 3&2; John Smith & Tony Morrison lost to David Kerr & Ray Dunk 2dn; Allen Sibley & George Crouch lost to David Rose & Roger Straker 4&3; John Newman & Roy Penrose lost to Doug Sinfield & Graham Jenkins 3&2.

On a cloudy and windy day, Cowdray Park seniors entertained Liphook, hoping to overturn the 6-1 loss suffered at Liphook. Not only did they gain revenge, they achieved their second whitewash of the season with a 7-0 victory.

Inspired by the performance of match manager Dave Tilley and John Kitchener, who beat Liphook’s strongest pairing of Nigel Turner and Mike Kendal 4&3, Cowdray continued the success in all the remaining matches. Standout victory for the home side was the 5&4 win by John Sanderson and last year’s seniors’ captain Wally Mitchell.

Results: Dave Tilley & John Sanderson beat Nigel Turner & Mike Kendal 4&3; Mike Nobes & Dave Hirons beat Alan Hill & John Read 4&3; Mike King & Peter Clarke beat Ray Perrett & Hugh Poyser 3&2; John Smith & Gerry Bowles beat Geoff Smith & Peter MacFarlane 2&1; Ken Newberry & George Crouch beat Richard Blott & Peter Purchon 4&2; John Sanderson & Wally Mitchell beat Mark Aitken & Gorden Oehlers 5&4; David Heard & Mike Burgess beat Peter Wright & Charles Gibson 2&1.


In the senior medal, Chris Machin won division one with a nett score of 71. In division two, winner was Mike Gammon with 72. The midweek medal was won by John Carter with a nett 73.

The senior Stableford was won in division one by Richard Strickland with 40 points and in division two by John Carter with 31.