Selsey and Aldwick cricketers rewarded for super season

Louis Paul receives his award from the BBC's Jonathan 'Aggers' Agnew
Louis Paul receives his award from the BBC's Jonathan 'Aggers' Agnew

HERE they are - the people who gave Selsey Cricket Club their best season in their 181-year history.

We featured in last week’s paper the club’s ladies’ team, who won their league and the T20 cup final.

But the club’s dinner dance and presentation evening at Selsey Golf Club also many other players and officials rewarded.

The first team, second team and ladies were presented with a total of 47 medals to mark promotion and league titles.

The main presentations then took place, with the following winners: Veterans Cup Andy Horner; Wally Lightfoot Sportsman of the year cup Nic Nolan; Ricky Halpin cup for most improved young player Will Smith; Ron Maidment Man of the Match cup Pete Horner, James Chaloner, Ash Humphreys; The Duck Cup James Chaloner, Dave Clark, Ash Humphreys; Paul Fisher Cup for highest score Denise Orford, Gary Mack, Karl Walton; Frank Fullick catching cup Nic Nolan; 2nd XI batting shield Gary Mack; 2nd XI Bowling shield Ash Humphreys; 1st XI Batting shield Nick Horner; 1st XI Bowling shield Pete Horner; Sir Patrick Moore bowling cup Pete Horner; Ted Davis batting cup Nick Horner; Ken & Nelly Frost Cup Ian Stocks; Les Stroud Cup Ricky Halpin; Ladies’ best fielder shield Pam Baker; Ladies’ best bowling shield Lucy Cawley; Ladies’ best batting shield Gemma Halford; Ladies’ players player shield Michelle Ackhurst; Bob Hoare cup for most improved young ladies’ player Lucy Cawley; Mike Nicholls Ladies players’ player cup Gemma Halford; Pete Driscoll cup for best Ladies fielding Pam Baker; Ladies Batting cup Denise Orford; Ladies Bowling Cup Lucy Cawley; Ladies most improved player Charlotte Vincent-Skinner; John Reeve cup for services to the ladies’ team Alex Vincent; John Miller cup Lucy Cawley; Robert Murphy cup Josh Stocks; John Martin second XI captain’s cup James Chaloner; John Martin first XI Captain’s cup Pete Horner ; Bertie Buck players’ player rose bowl Nic Nolan; Derek Gardner player of the year trophy Pete Horner.

Presentations were followed by a disco.

Meanwhile at the the West Sussex Invitation League’s annual dinner at the Sussex CCC HQ in Hove, Selsey’s Pete Horner was presented with the division three bowling Cup. Selsey’s Tom Benham was the top division-three fielder.

During the 2015 season the Medmerry Catering T20 Friday League was a great success, any local work teams, pub teams, social groups or teams of friends who would like to enter in 2016 are asked to contact Ricky Halpin by email on

The 2016 league season starts on April 9 with a home match versus Worthing Chipps.

During the season Selsey will again host the popular Sir Patrick Moore Cup match and family day out. It will again be against the Thespian Thunderers and will take place on Sunday, May 8. There’s a beer and rounders day on August 14.

Everyone at Selsey CC hopes everyone in the town is proud of the club’s success and anyone wishing to become involved, either in a playing, non-playing or social capacity, will be very welcome – email

Aldwick CC’s Louis Paul attended the West Sussex Invitation League’s awards dinner at the Sussex CCC county ground in Hove to receive his batting award for the 2015 season.

Paul was top batsman in division two with a total of 701 runs for the league season – making him fourth-highest run scorer overall in the 11 divisions.

Guest speaker at the event was BBC cricket correspondent Jonathan Agnew, who presented Paul with his richly-deserved trophy.