Selsey show off silverware for their big clash with Lashings

The Sir Patrick Moore Cup - the prize for the winners of the Selsey-Lashings match
The Sir Patrick Moore Cup - the prize for the winners of the Selsey-Lashings match

SELSEY have unveiled the glittering prize their Comets team will be playing for against the Lashings All-Stars on Sunday.

A squad packed with international cricket legends is due in town for a day the club will never forget.

The Lashings line-up – in full below – is every bit as strong as organisers hoped it would be, and should draw a big crowd to the club.

The teams will play for the Sir Patrick Moore Cup to mark Selsey’s 180th anniversary and in memory of Selsey’s former secretary and player Sir Patrick Moore.

The ground opens at 9am and there’ll be colts and ladies’ cricket to watch in the morning.

A Sir Patrick Moore exhibition will be opened at 11.45 by Dr. John Mason, heralded by the Chichester City Band.

A mini circus will be on around from 11am to 4pm while a corporate lunch will be held from midday until 2pm.

The Selsey-Lashings match takes place after a 2pm toss with tea around 4.30pm to 5pm, and Test Match Special’s Henry Blofeld will be there to help with commentary.

Displays by the Razzle Dazzle cheerleaders, and the OCD Dance Group are planned and the day will end around 7pm with the presentation of the cup by Louise Goldsmith, leader of West Sussex County Council. Around the ground will be various food stalls, as well as some bouncy castles, and small fairground rides.

Admission to the match is free.

Lashings All-Stars squad: Phil DeFreitas, Herschelle Gibbs, Owais Shah, Mohammad Yousuf, Gordon Greenidge, Iain O’Brien, Saqlain Mushtaq, Martin Bicknall, Yasir Arafat, Corey Collymore, Ed Giddins, John Lever.