Young and not-so-young are buoyant at Bognor

There were 50 entrants for the Phillips Salver Foursomes at Bognor Golf Club. Winners were Stuart McCarthy and Doug Lowman with an excellent nett score of 69.5.

Monday, 30th July 2012, 9:49 am
Updated Thursday, 7th June 2018, 7:34 pm

Runners-up were Andy Frankling and Andy Weir on 70.5. Dave Hicks and Andrew Field, the winners last year, were third on 71.5.

Eight teams of six from clubs across Sussex and Hampshire took part in the annual Team Invitational. The first team prize went to Rowlands Castle with 180 points. They also won last year.

Second on 174 were the Bognor team of Alistair Murray, Don McLeod, Chris Jenkinson, Simon Watts, Andy Brown and James MacLean.

Kevin Burnop (Lee-on-the-Solent GC) won both the scratch and handicap prizes. Bernard Brombley and Mike Kelly (Hockley GC) won the captain and vice-captain’s prize.

One of the most popular events, the seniors’ invitation meeting, featured 28 members and their guests from 19 clubs from as far afield as Clacton and Torquay took part. Bill Chick and Ron Allcott were the organisers of this four-ball better-ball Stableford.

The winners were JJ Stephenson and his guest Bruce Maskell from Surbiton with a very good score of 41 points.

Ron Stevens and John Blackman from Worthing were second on 40. Third on 39 were Richard Beresford and Harry Harper (Chichester) on countback from Simon Watts and Harvey Terry (Cowdray Park), on countback from Jim Catt and Brian Herechuk (Littlehampton), who were fifth.

Forty-three members of the veterans’ section took part in the Jack Lemmer Trophy. In awful conditions John Owen won with 36 points, and second was Clive Millett on 34 on countback from Harry Layton.

This was one of the qualifying rounds for the final of the Fletcher Trophy to be played later in the season. At this stage the leading qualifiers are Ian Simpson with 35 points, and Dave Orton and Harry Layton both on 33.

Having lost at Corhampton, 
the veterans’ section were pleased to win the home game 6-2.

Scores: Clive Millett & David Turner won 7&6; Doug Hamlett & Mike Wilson won 6&5; R Selway & B Moore halved, R Hedge & P Collins halved, G Steventon & A Delves won 1up, G O’Neill & B Baylis lost 5&4, P McCormack & T Till lost 3&2, H Diaper & R Kaemena won 2&1.

At Rowlands Castle the Bognor vets won 5-3.

Scores: Gary Steventon & Paul Black won 5&4; R Selway & P Collins won 1 up, D Turner & P Purnell lost 2&1, J Owen & C Millett won 3&1, C Willis & R Walker lost 1 down, M Oates & T Wells won 3&2, P Archer & D Hollis won 3&2, A Burrage & E Payne lost 3&2.

The juniors’ Jasmine Cup was won for the third year by Ryan Breach with 36 points. Runner-up was Jack Taylor with 34 and Ryan Maskell was third on 33.

Nearest the fifth pin was Maskell; nearest the tenth Matt Wood. Longest drive was hit by David Harris, while nearest the third in two shots was Bradley Dodman. He was also winner of the over-28 handcaps competition.

Jack Taylor was the winner of the Junior Bogey Cup, Scott Bingham was second, James Woosley third. The captain’s prize for those with over 28 hcps was won by Dodman with 37 points.

The ladies at Bognor played in a 36-hole foursomes Stableford for the Philips Salver.

Scores: 1 Jane Russell & Jaqui Humphries 75pt; 2 Heather Tidy & Wendy Johnson 67; 3 Janet Carter & June Salt 65.

An 18-hole competition was also played.

Scores: 1 Eileen Morris & Carol Adams 35; 2 Beryl Payne & Val Robertson 32 ocb; 3 Jenny Bartlett & Vanessa Cole 32.

Seventy-two ladies played in the Lady Captain’s Day medal. Conditions were not easy after two days of heavy rain and this was reflected in the results. Wendy Johnson won the Captain’s Day prize.

Results: Silver Div - 1 Wendy Johnson nett 74; 2 June Salt 77. Bronze A - 1 Janice Eder 80, 2 Berit Smallcorn 81. Bronze B: 1 Eileen Morris 78; 2 Carol Adams 80.


Selsey chose the right day for their ladies’ invitation. Despite the threat of heavy rain, the field came in dry with excellent scores playing four-ball better-ball.

Winners Janet Blackman with partner Kathie Donohoe from Chichester GC secured 37 points followed by Sharon Williams and Caroline Hawkes (Chichester) on 35.

The winners thanked the captain and Pat Growns with her team of helpers for organising the day. Kathie Donohoe, Maggie Brand, Sue Bligh and Sharon Williams all had birdies.


The midweek Stableford winner was Mark Heron. The weekend Stableford was taken by Martin Gill with 38 points.

The summer breakfast plate was won by Mark Heron, Robert Kuszka and Adam Kracke with 86 points. Second were Carl Corbin, Martin Gill and Tim Winter with 84.

The senior Stableford was won by William Billson with 36 points in division one and Michael Paige with 37 in division two.

Another midweek Stableford was won by Brian Comber with 36 points. The club Stableford was won in division one by Timothy Grinstead with 42 points and in division two by Mark Walker with 40.

The ladies Stableford was won by Yvette Charman with 33 points. The senior Stableford was won in division one by Norman Turner with 42 points and in division two by Gerry Reid with 41 points.


Chichester Priory Park CC held their annual golf day at Goodwood. The event brings together businesses to support the development of the cricket club’s junior section, which has more than 250 members between the ages of seven and 16.

The golf day helps fund qualified coaches, equipment and facilities to ensure youngsters receive the best opportunities to hone their skills and maximise their potential. There are six girls and four boys representing Sussex,.

An unprecedented 18 fourball teams competed for prizes from local businesses. The event was organised by current and former club presidents Andrew Barnes and Nigel Smith, with support from Mark Davis, Jan Barnes and Hannah Greenlees.

The Kaysted team of Peter and James Stedman, Mel Pipe and Mark Northam were the worthy winners with 95 points.